NORTHWEST MUNICIPAL CONFERENCE

1600 East Golf Road, Suite 0700 Des Plaines, Illinois 60016 (847) 296-9200 • Fax (847) 296-9207 *www.nwmc-cog.org*

I.



A Regional Association of Illinois Municipalities and Townships Representing a Population of Over One Million

NWMC Board Minutes Wednesday, November 18, 2020 7:00 p.m. Via Teleconference

Call to Order President O'Hara called the meeting to order at 7:03 p.m.

II. Pledge of Allegiance President O'Hara led the Pledge of Allegiance.

III. Roll Call

Karol Heneghan called the Roll.

Members Present:

Arlington Heights, Mayor Thomas Hayes Bannockburn, Manager Stephanie Hannon Barrington, President Karen Darch Buffalo Grove, Mayor Beverly Sussman Deer Park, Acting Village President Greg Rusteberg Elk Grove Village, Manager Ray Rummel Evanston, Acting Assistant City Manager Kimberly Richardson Fox Lake, Mayor Donny Schmit, Administrator Anne Marrin Glencoe, President Larry Levin, Manager Phil Kiraly Hanover Park. Trustee Bob Prigge Highland Park, Manager Ghida Neukirch Hoffman Estates, Mayor Bill McLeod Lake Bluff, President Kathleen O'Hara Lake Zurich, Manager Ray Keller Libertyville, Administrator Kelly Amidei Lincolnshire, Manager Brad Burke Lincolnwood, Trustee Jean Ikezoe-Halevi Morton Grove, Administrator Ralph Czerwinski Mount Prospect, Mayor Arlene Juracek Niles, Trustee John Jekot Northfield, President Joan Frazier, Trustee Charles Orth Palatine, Manager Reid Ottesen Park Ridge, Alderman John Moran Prospect Heights, Administrator Joe Wade Rolling Meadows, Manager Barry Krumstok Skokie, Assistant Village Manager Nick Wyatt Wheeling, Manager Jon Sfondilis Wilmette, President Bob Bielinski, Manager Michael Braiman

Bannockburn Barrington Bartlett **Buffalo Grove** Deer Park Deerfield **Des Plaines** Elk Grove Village Evanston Fox Lake Glencoe Glenview Grayslake Hanover Park **Highland Park** Hoffman Estates Kenilworth Lake Bluff Lake Forest Lake Zurich Libertvville Lincolnshire Lincolnwood Morton Grove Mount Prospect Niles Northbrook Northfield Northfield Township Palatine Park Ridge **Prospect Heights Rolling Meadows** Schaumburg Skokie Streamwood Vernon Hills West Dundee Wheeling Wilmette Winnetka

MEMBERS Antioch Arlington Heights

President Kathleen O'Hara Lake Bluff

Vice-President Joan Frazier Northfield

Secretary Dan Shapiro Deerfield

Treasurer Ray Keller Lake Zurich

Executive Director Mark L. Fowler Members Absent:

Antioch	Bartlett
Deerfield	Des Plaines
Glenview	Grayslake
Kenilworth	Lake Forest
Northbrook	Northfield Township
Schaumburg	Streamwood
Vernon Hills	West Dundee
Winnetka	
Others in Attendance:	

Meribeth Mermall, Director, Corporate Affairs, ComEd Larry Bury, NWMC Deputy Director Ellen Dayan, NWMC Purchasing Director Marina Durso, NWMC Program Associate for Administrative Services Mark Fowler, NWMC Executive Director Karol Heneghan, NWMC Executive Administrative Assistant/Office Manager Kendra Johnson, NWMC Program Associate for Transportation Matt Pasquini, NWMC Program Associate for Transportation

IV. Approval of Meeting Minutes – October 14, 2020

Motion to approve the minutes of October 14 was made by President Levin. It was seconded by President Sussman and unanimously approved.

V. President's Report – Kathleen O'Hara, NWMC President and President, Village of Lake Bluff

A. COVID-19/NWMC Here to Help Update

Mr. Fowler provided an update on the implementation of additional resurgence mitigations. He said that, due to the Cook County and Chicago stay at home advisories, Conference staff returned to remote operations until further notice. He reported on the first meeting of the Metropolitan Mayors CaucusCOVID-19 Task Force and the work plan for the initiative. He said President O'Hara, Mayor Juracek and Mayor Dailly are the NWMC member representatives to the task force. Mr. Fowler also reported that the Conference has relaunched the "Here To Help" weekly update which will be sent out every Thursday as needed.

B. Illinois Firefighters' Pension Investment Fund Board Election

President O'Hara reported that ballots for seats on the Firefighters' Pension Investment Fund Board of Trustees are being sent to mayors and village presidents of municipalities. She said the Illinois Municipal League Board of Directors has endorsed the following three municipal candidates for election: *Northbrook Deputy Village Manager/Chief Financial Officer Jeff Rowitz*; O'Fallon Mayor Herb Roach; and, Peoria Treasurer Patrick Nichting. She said completed ballots must be returned prior to December 1. She also said The Illinois Police Pension Investment Fund Board of Trustees election is uncontested.

VI. Priority Issues

A. Legislative Committee – Joan Frazier, President, Village of Northfield, Co-Chair and Nancy Rotering, Mayor, City of Highland Park, Co-Chair

1. State Legislator Engagement

President Frazier reported on the second NWMC Regional Legislative Dialog, held on October 23. She said many mayors and managers along with four legislators were in attendance. She said discussions included legislator initiatives, CARES Act funding, veto session status and policing reforms. She said Conference staff discussed spring 2021 legislative initiatives and offered to provide data to legislators, which was well received. She concluded by saying that legislators recommended that these calls take place on a quarterly basis.

2. Veto Session Preview

Mr. Bury reported that the General Assembly's fall veto session was cancelled and also said it was unclear when the January session would begin. He stated that budget issues will be at the top of the list for legislators when they do reconvene due to the defeat of the Fair Tax.

B. Finance Committee – Ray Keller, NWMC Treasurer and Manager, Village of Lake Zurich, Chair

2019-2020 Federal 990 Form Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax

Mr. Keller said the Finance Committee recommended approval of the 2019-2020 990 Form - Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax and the AG990-IL form. Motion to approve the recommendation was made by President Levin. It was seconded by Mayor McLeod and unanimously approved.

C. Transportation Committee – Rodney Craig, President, Village of Hanover Park, Co-Chair Tom Dailly, President, Village of Schaumburg, Co-Chair

COVID-Related Impact on Transportation Revenues

Ms. Johnson reported on a recent survey outlining the impact of COVID-19 on member infrastructure programs and transportation revenues. Additionally, she noted regional agencies, including Metra, Pace, the Regional Transportation Authority and the Illinois Tollway, are also facing tough decisions in their budget processes due to COVID-related revenue declines.

VII. Consent Agenda

Motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Mayor McLeod. It was seconded by President Levin and unanimously approved.

VIII. Other Business

None.

IX. For the Good of the Order

President O'Hara reported that the new NWMC website is up and running. Mr. Fowler thanked Larry Bury, Marina Durso, Kendra Johnson and Matthew Pasquini on all their hard work on getting the new website designed and operational.

X. Next Meeting

President O'Hara reported that the next NWMC Board meeting will be held on Wednesday, December 9 at 7:00 p.m. via teleconference.

XI. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Ms. Hannon. It was seconded by President Frazier and unanimously approved. The meeting adjourned at 7:34 p.m.