NORTHWEST MUNICIPAL CONFERENCE

1600 East Golf Road, Suite 0700 Des Plaines, Illinois 60016 (847) 296-9200 • Fax (847) 296-9207 *www.nwmc-cog.org*



A Regional Association of Illinois Municipalities and Townships Representing a Population of Over One Million

NWMC Board Minutes Wednesday, January 10, 2018 7:00 p.m. Oakton Community College Room 1610 1600 East Golf Road Des Plaines, IL

Call to Order

I.

President Rosenthal called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

II. Pledge of Allegiance

President Rosenthal lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

III. Roll Call

Karol Heneghan called the roll.

Members Present:

Arlington Heights, Mayor Tom Hayes Bannockburn, Manager Maria Lasday Barrington, Trustee Todd Sholeen Buffalo Grove, President Beverly Sussman Deer Park, President Dale Sands Deerfield, Mayor Harriet Rosenthal Elk Grove Village, Manager Ray Rummel Evanston, Mayor Stephen Hagerty, Deputy City Manager Erika Storlie Fox Lake, Assistant to the Village Administrator Laura Linehan Glencoe, President Larry Levin Glenview, President James Patterson Hanover Park, President Rod Craig, Trustee Bob Prigge Highland Park, Manager Ghida Neukirch Hoffman Estates, Mayor Bill McLeod Lake Bluff, President Kathleen O'Hara Lake Zurich, Manager Ray Keller Libertyville, Manager Chris Clark Morton Grove, Manager Ralph Czerwinski Mount Prospect, Mayor Arlene Juracek Niles, Trustee John Jekot Northfield, President Joan Frazier Park Ridge, Alderman Roger Shubert Prospect Heights, Administrator Joe Wade Rolling Meadows, Manager Barry Krumstok Schaumburg, Manager Brian Townsend Skokie, Trustee Randall Roberts Vernon Hills, Manager John Kalmar

Arlington Heights Bannockburn Barrington Bartlett **Buffalo Grove** Carpentersville Carv **Crystal Lake** Deer Park Deerfield **Des Plaines** Elk Grove Village Evanston Fox Lake Glencoe Glenview Grayslake Hanover Park **Highland Park** Hoffman Estates Kenilworth Lake Bluff Lake Forest Lake Zurich Libertyville Lincolnshire Lincolnwood Morton Grove Mount Prospect Niles Northbrook Northfield Northfield Township Palatine Park Ridge Prospect Heights **Rolling Meadows** Schaumburg Skokie Streamwood Vernon Hills Wheeling Wilmette Winnetka

MEMBERS

Antioch

President Harriet Rosenthal Deerfield

Vice-President Arlene Juracek Mount Prospect

Secretary Daniel DiMaria Morton Grove

Treasurer Ghida Neukirch Highland Park

Executive Director Mark L. Fowler Members Absent:

Antioch	Bartlett
Carpentersville	Cary
Crystal Lake	Des Plaines
Grayslake	Kenilworth
Lake Forest	Lincolnshire
Lincolnwood	Northbrook
Northfield Township	Palatine
Streamwood	Wheeling
Wilmette	Winnetka

Others in Attendance: Martin Sussman, Resident of Buffalo Grove James Boratyn, Resident of Niles Larry Bury, NWMC Deputy Director Ellen Dayan, NWMC Purchasing Director Marina Durso, NWMC Program Associate for Administrative Services Mark Fowler, NWMC Executive Director Karol Heneghan, NWMC Administrative Assistant/Office Manager Brian Pigeon, NWMC Program Associate for Transportation & Policy Mike Walczak, NWMC Transportation Director

IV. Approval of Meeting Minutes – November 8, 2017

Motion to approve the minutes of the November 8, 2017 meeting was made by President Levin. It was seconded by Mayor McLeod and unanimously approved.

V. President's Report – Harriet Rosenthal, NWMC President and Mayor, Village of Deerfield A. Illinois Bicentennial Resolution

President Rosenthal advised that 2018 marks the 200th anniversary of both the adoption of the first Illinois Constitution and admission into the Union as a state. She reported that the Executive Board recommended adoption of a resolution crafted by the Illinois Municipal League. Motion to approve the recommendation was made by Mayor McLeod. It was seconded by President Craig and unanimously approved.

B. 2018 NWMC Legislative Brunch

President Rosenthal reminded everyone to RSVP to the NWMC Legislative Brunch, which will be held on Saturday, January 27. Mr. Fowler gave the list of legislators scheduled to attend and also those unable to attend.

C. NWMC Surplus Vehicle & Equipment Winter Auction

Ms. Dayan reported that the first NWMC Surplus Vehicle & Equipment Auction of 2018 will be held on Tuesday, January 23, 2:00 p.m., at America's Auto Auction in Crestwood. She said that, to date, the following municipalities are participating in the auction: Aurora; Carol Stream; Campton Hills; *Northbrook*; and, North Aurora. She noted there is still time to participate.

D. March NWMC Meeting Location

Mr. Fowler advised that due to a scheduling conflict with Oakton Community College, an alternate location for the March 14 Board meeting is needed. Mayor Hagerty offered to host the March meeting in Evanston.

VI. Priority Issues

A. Legislative Committee – Matthew Bogusz, Mayor, City of Des Plaines, Co-Chair and Lawrence Levin, President, Village of Glencoe, Co-Chair

1. 2018 Legislative Program

President Levin reported that the Executive Board and Legislative Committee recommended approval of the 2018 NWMC Legislative Program. Motion to approve the recommendation was made by Mayor McLeod. It was seconded by Mr. Townsend and unanimously approved.

2. 2018 Legislative Outlook

Mr. Bury provided an outlook on legislative issues expected to emerge in 2018, including preserving/restoring local government revenues, property tax freeze, pension fund consolidation, small wireless facilities deployment and short term rental regulations.

B. Transportation Committee – William McLeod, Mayor, Village of Hoffman Estates, Co-Chair and Rodney Craig, President, Village of Hanover Park, Co-Chair

Surface Transportation Program (STP) Project Selection Committee Update

Mr. Walczak provided details of the first meeting of the STP Project Selection Committee. He stated that the committee will establish active program management strategies for all STP projects and will determine the methodology for selecting projects to receive STP funds from the regional Shared Fund.

VII. Consent Agenda

Motion to approve consent agenda was made by President Levin. It was seconded by Mayor Craig and unanimously approved.

VIII. Other Business

None.

IX. For the Good of the Order None.

X. Next Meeting

President Rosenthal announced that the next Board meeting will be held on Wednesday, February 14, 7:00 p.m. at Oakton Community College, Room 1604, in Des Plaines.

XI. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Rummel. It was seconded by Mr. Krumstok and unanimously approved. The meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.